Mosques on Mainstreet or Lost?

I’m interested in how the media covers Islamic communities in the US. Namely, how a venue like Beliefnet covers the potential for “homegrown” terrorism in muslim communities in America as compared to coverage in the NYTimes of a different angle of the same story. I feel that this issues faced by this community and the issues that this community raises for society at large are largely underreported. But, I may also work on this in Craft so I’m not sure if it’s okay to blog about this here. An open question for this new environment…

If that doesn’t work out, similar to Annaliese, I’d like to kill two birds with one stone. I know that I don’t have enough time to watch tv every Wednesday, but Lost has become required viewing. However, I don’t just want to cover the coverage of the show in the media, good bad or ugly. Lost has developed a cult following not unlike Star Trek and Twin Peaks and an online life that is somewhat unprecedented (at least to my untrained eye).

I would look at how Lost fans cover the show and aggregate information, commentary and theories, see Lostpedia. Also, there is the online “alternate reality game” The Lost Experience, which is run, in part, by producers of the show. The Lost producers have woven passing references to theories, events and characters from Lostpedia and the ARG and have stated that those venues inform the actual scripts. Lately, an ARG candybar has shown up on eBay. I found myself wondering if Channel3000 is even a real tv station! Would the Lost producers create a fake news website to run a silly story about their fake chocolate bars being auctioned? Nah.

2 Responses to “Mosques on Mainstreet or Lost?”

  1. cunygsj Says:

    i like it.

  2. Zeyad Says:

    Matt, can you send me an email at zeyad_w@hotmail.com please? I forgot to take your number the last time we chatted.

Leave a Reply

