New blog, same as the old blog

For my second blog, I want to start a group blog covering the neighborhoods of SW Brooklyn – Bensonhurst, Bay Ridge, Sunset Park and Red Hook.

I suppose that I could go ahead and launch a blog on something non-threatening like sports or music or books. I’m interested in all of those things, perhaps I’m interested enough to even blog about them on a semi-regular basis.

Why do I say non-threatening? I don’t mean any disrespect to those subjects or the people who cover them. In fact, all of those people I’ve linked to above do a much better job at covering those subjects than I ever could.

I say non-threatening because I fear that blogging now may prejudice my future career. I feel that I am too new to this journalism thing to commit myself to a certain subject or to voice strong opinions in them.

2 Responses to “New blog, same as the old blog”

  1. emma Says:

    But don’t you think that a strong opinion could do just the opposite? Make your voice heard and allow you to move forward in your career with a voice of your own?

  2. joybergmann Says:

    I second that Emmamotion.

    Matt, you have a winning style and, dare I say, excellent punctuation. Why hide your personality’s light for fear’s sake?

    No one says you need be a scold or firebrand to blog beautifully. Just be your bold, marvelous self. That’s a career boon, I reckon.

Leave a Reply

